Federico da Montefeltro: il Duca™ is a 2022 game by Andrea Angiolino and Alessio Spalluto, sponsored and supported by the Municipality and the Pro Loco of Urbino and is part of the 2022 celebrations in honor of Federico’s 600th anniversary.
On this page we collect the most frequently asked questions that we have been asked about rules and how to correctly apply them. These answers are to be considered an official part of the rules included in the game box.
When I create a new District on my turn, and I want to play two Works cards, do they have to be of the same color? No, Works can be of any type (Artistic, Military, Humanistic or Urbanistic) and any color (black, red or green), chosen according to your personal strategy.
In general, must Districts have only Works of the same color, or can they have mixed colors? There are no color restrictions in the composition of the Works in a District.
Can you create just one new District on your turn, or even two? As stated in the rulebook on page 18, point 2 of the How to Play section, if two Works are played in one turn, they both form the same new District that is being created
On my turn, I created a new District, in addition to others I already had. Can I add the second Work to an already existing District or only to the one I just created? Only to the new one that is being created in the current turn (see also the answer to question 3).
At the beginning of my turn, can I take the Ottaviano Ubaldini della Carda or Federico da Montefeltro Dignitary? Yes, if available according to the normal rules, i.e. discarding a card from your hand and choosing any Dignitary from the Duke's Court or from an opponent who has yet to play in this round (page 18). In particular, if the card shows Ottaviano Ubaldini della Carda, this will be the Dignitary you hold, otherwise if Federico da Montefeltro is shown, the Duke will be the Dignitary you hold.
On my turn, I have Ottaviano Ubaldini della Carda and I play the Event Foiled Conspiracy as the first card from my hand; can I then play the Event Military Contract? Yes: when Foiled Conspiracy is played, the Dignitary Ottaviano Ubaldini della Carda is flipped, revealing Federico da Montefeltro, who therefore becomes the “new” held Dignitary. Thanks to Federico da Montefeltro, I can play any Event and if I play Military Contract as a second card, the Dignitary is flipped to reveal Ottaviano Ubaldini della Carda once again (page 15).
Federico da Montefeltro: il Duca™ is the first work that introduces the effort (black characteristic): our players, through this index, know how much strategy, attention and commitment are needed to compete for the win. Federico da Montefeltro: il Duca™ has a light level of effort.